U13 Division 1B Champions in Style

St. Josephs 9-11, Lannleire/St. Kevins 1-8Our Under 13 squad turned in a fantastic display this evening against Lannleire/St. Kevins to capture the Division 1B title. The combination side opened the scoring with a point, the lead was short lived when Rian Devlin burst thorough to crash the ball to the net. Minutes later a fine clearance from defence was collected by Pearse Grimes who soloed trough to drive a low show to the corner of the net. The sides exchanged points with Michael O’Brien pointing for the Joes from a free. The Joes defence were calm under pressure with Cormac McKeown excelling when breaking up a number of attacks. Jack O’Leary who cleared to Pearse Grimes and his shot was saved with Oisin Reidy finishing the rebound to the net. Minutes later Oisin was on the attack again and he hit a rocket from the right wing to the net for arguably the best score of the game. The Joes leading 4-1 to 0-3 after 14mins.The Joes playing excellent team football hit five unanswered points from Pearse Grimes, Oisin Reidy, Michael O’Brien (2) and a long range effort from Cormac McKeown. The Joes ended the half when a long range shot from Pearse Grimes was punched to the net by Rian Devlin to leave the Joes ahead by 5-6 to 0-4 at the break.Rian Devlin hit the first point of the second half and then Harry Reilly soloed through to hit the net for another Joes goal. A Cormac McKeown point had the Joes ahead by 6-8 to 0-7 with the Lannleire/St. Kevins battling to break through a well organised Joes defence that allowed very few scoring chances. A fine combination between Michael O’Brien and Pearse Grimes setup Enda Dooley for a goal. Rian Devlin hit a purple patch when he was on target with a goal and two points in a five minute spell. The Joes capped a fine team performance when Enda Dooley scored his second goal and Michael O’Brien hit a superb point from distance
Lannleire/St. Kevins showed their fighting spirit to the end when they got through for a goal and Adam Cassidy was called into action with two fine saves. At last this young squad has come through after a number of near misses in recent finals over the past two years. A fantastic team display, congratulations to players and management on a great display tonight.Joes Squad: Adam Cassidy, Jack O’Leary, Adam Prendergast, Ben McKeown, Cormac McKeown, Kyle Yore, Harry Reilly, Rian Devlin, Pearse Grimes, Michael O’Brien, Shane Miland, Adam Dullaghan, Lorcan Finnegan, Liam McQuillan, Jamie McParland, Alfie Barron, Finn Malone, Diarmuid McGeeney, Oisin Reidy, Enda Dooley.