Five from Five for Junior Team in League

12 May 2013

The only blot on the Joes juniors league copybook in 2012 was a freak 17 point defeat to the Blues in Drogheda last May, denying them a 100% record. They turned the tables on an understrength Newtown side this afternoon, with interest.


Playing with the aid of the wind in the first half it took the Joes seven minutes to record their first score. It was a well executed Mickey Mc Ardle goal at the end of a move started by some good tackling from Jack Mulligan. With John Mc Guinness pointing from the kick out the Joes settled into the game and this was followed by further points from Daire Smyth, a Damien Connor brace and a point from Mc Ardle, to set up an eight point lead after eleven minutes of play. A Cormac Mc Quillan point got the Blues on the scoreboard, but a minute later Gary Kinahan hit the roof of the net at the far end. Further points from Mc Ardle and Kinahan stretched the lead, before the mid Louth side got a slightly fortuitous penalty awarded with five minutes remaining in the half. Damien Connor despatched this to net and a minute later Daire Smyth intercepted a short kickout and played the ball into Aidan Shaw for his customary goal. A fourteen yard free from from Mickey Byrne did double the Blues tally on the stroke of half time.

Half Time Score: St Josephs 4-7, Newtown Blues 0-2


The Joes started off the second half with a pair of Gary Kinahan points, before the Blues hit a brief purple patch which yielded points for Mark Cluskey and Mickey Byrne. It was more of the same though from the Joes in the final quarter, with a another double from Damien Connor being followed by points from Dean Matthews, Gary Kinahan, John Mc Guinness and Jack Mulligan. The ever hungry Connor rounded of the scoring with a goal in the final minute of the game, as the league leaders maintain their 100% record with a facile 26 points away win.

Full Time Score: St Josephs 5-15, Newtown Blues 0-4


St Josephs: Eamonn Neary, Mark Dromgoole, David Kierans, Stefan Potts, Aaron Smyth, Conor Lynch, David Mernagh, John Mc Guinness 0-2, Jack Mulligan 0-1, Daire Smyth 0-1, Damien Connor 2-4, Mickey Mc Ardle 1-2, Gary Kinahan 1-4, Aidan Shaw 1-0, Mark Gorham.

Substitution: Rory Campbell for Mickey Mc Ardle, Craig Doherty for Mark Gorham, Damien Faul for David Mernagh, Dean Matthews 0-1 for Daire Smyth.


Newtown Blues: P Black, B Mc Quillan, R Milne, G Delaney, D Gartland, O Maloney, M Byrne 0-2, C Mc Quillan 0-1, M Cluskey 0-1, R Phillips, J Mc Eneaney, B Phillips, C Moore.


Referee: Noel Hand

Country Fresh