AGM Report

09 Dec 2010

Naomh Seosamh AGM was held in our clubrooms at Cluskey Park, this evening. There were six underage trophies on display, won by U11, U12, U13, U16 teams and of course the Minor Shield Trophy and more importantly the Fr Larry Murray Cup won by the Minor Champions of Louth. An increase on last years haul of four trophies and most importantly the retention of the Minor Championship, a fantastic achievement. Turn out was reasonable given the continuing poor weather conditions.


The meeting opened with secretary John Foxs report, which can be found attached at the bottom of this article, it is a comprehensive, frank and honest report of the year and well worth a read. This was followed by the Treasurers report. In relation to the income of the club it was pointed out that we had benefited from grants over the last two years as we continued the major capital development of the club, this is an income that could not be relied on going forward. During the year there were new income streams in the form of the last man standing competition, but more importantly the Vodafone Support Your Club initiative, which unfortunately has been discontinued (largely due to its success!) The biggest expenditure of the year was on our brand new floodlights, which cost €62k.


The chairmans address started by looking forward to the 50th anniversary that the club was facing in 2011 and paying tribute to the men who formed this club, all those years ago. He moved on to mention the underage success on the field and the success off the field in substantively finishing the wonderful facilities of the club and thanking the community for their support in our numerous fundraising efforts to put these in place. After seven years of major development, he was delighted that the vast majority of this was at an end and that going forward the committee could concentrate much more on supporting coaching and football in the club. He looked forward to the 50th year of the club and the appropriate celebration of this, which would encompass the official opening of the current clubhouse and facilities.


Chairman Tom Dooley thanked both management teams from last year for their efforts. But 2011 would mean a whole management in place. The senior management will be lead by Alan Mc Kenna and including Jason Hoey, David Reilly and Jim Matthews. The new management have the full support of the committee and club and are wished well to hopefully make the Joes 50th year a successful one on the field.


Other Business
Any other business was filled by various committee members making sure that all were aware of the ongoing fundraising activities of the club:
• Registrar Eamonn Gallagher reminded all that the membership for 2011 would be opening soon and that all players, committee and members were reminded of the different levels of payments available.
• Noel Neary reminded all that there was just over a week to the Christmas Draw and that tickets were still available. Tickets are only €10 each or 6 for €50 and can be bought online or from any committee member or adult player.
• The club was delighted to announce that the first ever club calendar, which would be available from next week through the club bar, centra in Dromiskin or Eamonn Gallagher or Michael Kinahan. Retailing at €12, this picture calendar, features several of the underage successes as well as the first junior game under lights. They make an ideal personal memento or Christmas present!
• Martin Byrne reminded all that “take your pick” is running in the club every Saturday night and we are currently running an excellent deal with a local chef for parties in the club.
• Finally, the Chairman put out an invite to all who have been involved in playing, organising, mentoring, coaching or working in the club or community centre at all levels over the past year, to the clubrooms for a Club Night on Friday the 17th December, food would be served and there would be ceol agus craic.


Election of Officers & Committee:
There were only a few changes in the Joes executive this year. Paul Dromgoole, the incoming secretary of the minor committee stepped down as the assistant secretary. Paul was replaced by Jonny Mc Gailey, a welcome addition to the executive who will bring some much needed youth to it. Jonny was also later appointed to the position of youth officer. The new position of Ogsport officer was very suitably filled by Sinead Coyne.


Last year saw the setting up of the ASAP officer position in the club. Chairman Tom Dooley paid tribute to Graham Gorham for taking on this role with gusto during the year and for putting together the procedures and documentation for the role and was sorry that Graham was not able to go forward for the position again. The role is to be filled by the incoming committee. As is the role of the Cultural Officer. Aidan Gorham paid tribute to Tomas O hEochaidh for his enthusiasm for this role at county level and that the club would welcome an approach from a suitable person within the community who could fill the role.


There were welcome additions to the committee, bringing some more youth to the table in Aaron & Cian Smyth, Paul Dromgoole and Paddy Bell. The only loss to the committee being Sean Kinahan.


The executive and committee that was elected for 2011 was:
Cathaoirleach - Tom Dooley
Leas Cathaoirleach - Aidan Gorham & Noel Neary
Runai - John Fox
Leas Runai – Jonathan Mc Gailey
Cisteoir - Tony Doherty
Leas Cisteoir - Kevin Kerr
Teachtai Coiste Co Lu - Aidan Gorham
PRO - Michael Kinahan
Registrar - Eamonn Gallagher
Minor Coiste Co Lu - Pat Coyne
Og Sport Officer – Sinead Coyne
Youth Officer – Jonathan Mc Gailey
Insurance Officer - Michael Kinahan
Cultural Officer – TBA by incoming committee
Alcohol and Substance Abuse Officer – TBA by incoming committee
Committee: Joey Neary, Gerry Kinahan, Martin Byrne, Ollie Corrigan, Jim Hoey, Aine Murphy, Enda Mc Keown, Stephen Quigley, Paddy Bell, Paul Dromgoole, Aaron Smyth, Cian Smyth, Tony Agnew, Linus English, Simon Fagan, Brendan Neary.


Downloads: Secretarys Report - 2010 AGM (doc_article_171_1.pdf)

Country Fresh